Map of An Tir showing branches and Principalities
Map generously created by Sir Brehon. Click on the map for a larger view

An Tir is the ninth Kingdom in the SCA, founded in January of 1982 (anno societatis 16). It was originally a principality of the West Kingdom.

An Tir’s borders include the US States of Oregon, Washington, Northern Idaho, most of the Canadian Province of British Columbia, as well as the Yukon and Northwest Territories. In June of 2015 (anno societatis 50), An Tir’s Principality Avacal became the SCA’s twentieth Kingdom – taking the Canadian lands of Eastern British Columbia, Alberta, and Saskatchewan.

With such a large territory to rule over, the Crown of An Tir have two Principalities, each with its own Coronets, to administer for Them. The Principality of the Summits to the South (encompassing most of the US state of Oregon), and The Principality of Tir Righ to the North encompassing Northern Washington State, Western British Columbia, the Yukon, and Northwest Territories.